Mukul Roy

Photo: Deccan Herald

Centre Withdraws Mukul Roy’s Z-category VIP security: West Bengal

BJP MLA Mukul Roy, who recently rejoined Trinamool Congress (TMC) with his son Shubhrangshu, has been debarred with the Z-category VIP security, on June 17. Union Home Ministry has ordered the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) to remove the security. As per sources, Mukul Roy himself had written a letter to the center to withdraw the security. However, the state police have been providing them security.  

Thu, 17 Jun 2021 - 02:40 PM / by Sahil Quadir

Tags: BJP, BJP MLA, TMC, Mukul Roy, Shubhrangshu

Courtesy: Hindustan times

Mithun Chakraborty

Photo: Republic World

Mithun Chakraborty Questioned By Bengal Police Over His Film Dialogue

"Marbo ekhaney, lash porbay shoshaney", a line from Mithun Chakraborty's 2006 film, 'MLA Fatakeshto' landed him in a virtual police questioning on June 16. An FIR was lodged against the 71-year-old actor for allegedly instigating Bengal's post-poll violence with the dialogue in his March 7 speech. However, the BJP campaigner was given an order to be virtually questioned by Kolkata Police after going to court to get the FIR cancelled… read-more

Wed, 16 Jun 2021 - 05:22 PM / by Aditi Chavan

Tags: Mithun Chakraborty, BJP, FIR, MLA Fatakeshto, virtual questioning, Kolkata Police

Courtesy: NDTV

Supreme Court of India.

Photo: New Indian Express

60-Year-Old Women Gang-Raped; Approaches SC For Justice

Post poll violence in West Bengal, several women have approached the SC for justice. A 60-year-old women has accused the TMC workers for being allegedly gang-raped in-front of her six-year-old grand son. As per her statement, five TMC workers barged into her house on May 3, looted valuable objects and threatened her to bomb. However, she also alleged that the local police refused to record her complaint.

Mon, 14 Jun 2021 - 08:54 PM / by Sohini Mandal

Tags: Gang-Rape, Post-Poll Violence, bomb blast, TMC, BJP

Courtesy: The Times of India

Mayawati joined hands with Sukhbir Singh Badal

Photo: India TV

Akali Dal & Bahujan Samaj Party Form Alliance For 2022 Assembly Elections: Punjab

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) have shaken hands to jointly contest in the upcoming 2022 Punjab Assembly elections. Notably, SAD and BSP have formed alliance for the first time in 27 years, after the 1996 Lok Sabha elections. SAD is expected to offer BSP the same seats which it used to offer BJP during their alliance, which broke due to differences in recent farm laws.

Sat, 12 Jun 2021 - 03:58 PM / by Anvitha Shetty

Tags: Punjab, Shiromani Akali Dal, Bahujan Samaj Party, BJP

Courtesy: NDTV

Filmmaker Aisha Sultana

Photo: OpIndia

BJP Leaders Submit Resignation Following Aisha Sultana's FIR: Lakshadweep

Fifteen BJP leaders and party workers have submitted their resignation following the FIR which was filed against filmmaker Aisha Sultana. Sultana was booked under a case of sedition for blaming the centre for the increase of Covid-19 cases in Lakshadweep, by calling it a "bio-weapon". The BJP leaders also alleged that the administrator of the island, Praful Patel is "anti-people" and "anti-democratic". 

Sat, 12 Jun 2021 - 02:07 PM / by Aditi Chavan

Tags: Praful Patel, Lakshadweep, Aisha Sultana, BJP

Courtesy: NDTV

Mukul Roy, along with his son rejoined TMC

Photo: Indian Express

Former Minister Mukul Roy Resigns BJP, Joins TMC Along With His Son

After facing a massive defeat in West Bengal Assembly Election 2021, BJP is trying hard to keep its flock together. Meanwhile, the BJP's national vice-president Mukul Roy and his son Subhrangshu returned to TMC. However, both the the leaders had met CM Mamata Banerjee and other senior leaders before joining the party. Earlier, Mukul had resigned from TMC in 2017, and his son joined the BJP in 2019.

Fri, 11 Jun 2021 - 08:36 PM / by Brijesh Goswami

Tags: Mukul Roy, Mamata Banerjee, TMC, BJP

Courtesy: Indian Express

Mumbai Mayor Kishori Pednekar

Photo: Bhaskar

Mumbai Mayor Takes Jibe At Opposition BJP Over COVID Death Data

Taking a jibe at the opposition BJP's claims of Maharashtra's COVID-19 deaths being underreported, Mumbai Mayor Kishori Pednekar said that there are no rivers in Mumbai to dump bodies. Pednekar said, “All Covid deaths in Mumbai are recorded at three places, so the data can't be hidden". Recently, BJP-ruled Bihar and UP were also criticised for under reporting COVID deaths and burying dead bodies along riverside.

Thu, 10 Jun 2021 - 08:44 PM / by Aditi Chavan

Tags: Mumbai mayor, Mayor Kishori Pednekar, BJP, Uttar Pradesh, Ganga

Courtesy: NDTV

Jitin Prasad

Photo: The Financial Express

Ex-Union Minister Senior Congressmen Jitin Prasada Joins BJP

Former Union minister and a close aide of Rahul Gandhi, Jitin Prasada on June 9 joined the BJP in the presence of senior BJP leaders at party headquarters in New Delhi. Reportedly, earlier also rumors floated after the 2019 Lok Sabha election that he would leave the Congress, but the senior leadership somehow convinced him. Jitin was among the G-23 leaders who demanded free and fair organizational elections in Congress.

Wed, 09 Jun 2021 - 03:38 PM / by Anvitha Shetty

Tags: BJP, Congress Party, Rahul Gandhi, lok sabha, Jitin Prasad

Courtesy: Zee News

Akhilesh Yadav.

Photo: Outlook

Akhilesh Yadav To Take COVID Jab Months After Calling It 'BJP Vaccine'

Samajwadi party leader and former UP CM Akhilesh Yadav on June 7 pledged to get vaccinated, months after calling the COVID-19 vaccines as "BJP's vaccine". Akhilesh's statement comes after his father Mulayam Singh Yadav received the vaccine jab. Akhilesh changed his stance after the Centre calls for boycott of "politicising the corona vaccine". Earlier, Akhilesh had stated his government would have given free vaccine if it had been in power… read-more

Wed, 09 Jun 2021 - 12:14 PM / by Harsh Vardhan

Tags: Akhilesh Yadav, mulayam singh yadav, Covid-19 Vaccine, BJP

Courtesy: The Indian Express

Representational Image

Photo: Patrika

35 Maha IPS Officers Owe Crores For Overstaying In Govt Quarters

In a shocking revelation, 35 incumbent and retired Indian Police Service officers owe the Maharashtra government Rs 3.82 crore in penalties for continuing to live in official housing after being removed from their postings. Interestingly, two of them are former top-cops of Mumbai Police, one of whom is now a two-term BJP MP. Notably, the defaulters list also includes several high ranking police officers who are currently in service.

Tue, 08 Jun 2021 - 09:03 PM / by Anvitha Shetty

Tags: IPS officer, Maharashtra , BJP, RTI , penalty