One Nation One Election

Photo: English Daily News

One Nation, One Election, Need Of Hour Says BJP Govt

The big One Nation, One Election move has disturbed the political dimension in India. If implemented, the Central Government's move of uniting India with single election will have a huge favour on the Election Commission of India, as there would be elections across the India, Assembly and Lok Sabha together. However, the opposition is raising questions and is against the implementation, calling it unconstitutional.

Fri, 01 Sep 2023 - 02:30 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Election, One nation, one election, Indian government, Committee Formed

Courtesy: News 18


Photo: The Week

Congress Candidate Harinarayan Gupta Passes Away From Heart Attack Following Defeat In MP's Rewa

Harinarayan Gupta, a Congress politician running for municipal council in Madhya Pradesh's Rewa, perished on July 17 after learning of his election defeat. However, Akhilesh Gupta, an independent candidate, beat him by 14 votes. Harinarayan Gupta was also the panchayat president of the Hanumana Congress unit. According to the results, the BJP won in Burhanpur, Satna, Khandwa, and Sagar, while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won in Singrauli.

Sun, 17 Jul 2022 - 06:25 PM / by Vidhi Jhunjhunwala

Tags: Congress leader, Heart attack, Election, municipal council polls, Harinarayan Gupta

Courtesy: India today


Photo: Northeast Now

Voting Begins For Local Body Elections In Mizoram

Voting has begun for the 25-member Mara Autonomous District Council in Mizoram's Siaha, on May 5. Security has been tightened in the area and strict adherence to Covid-19 protocols are being ensured, said an official. Reportedly, the voting began at 7 am and will go on till 5 pm. Furthermore, 42,342 voters are expected to turn up and decide the fate of 85 candidates.

Thu, 05 May 2022 - 01:30 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: Mizoram, Siaha, District Council, polls, Election

Counting Begins

Photo: The Print

Counting Of Votes Begins In Assam: Guwahati Municipal Corporation Election

The counting of the votes for the Guwahati Municipal Corporation Election has begun, on April 24. The election which witnessed a 52.80% voter turnout, took place on April 22. Reportedly, 57 out of 60 wards are being contested in. Congress party contested in 54 wards, BJP in 50 wards, AAP in 39 wards, Assam Jatiya Parishad in 25 wards and Ason Gana Parishad in seven wards. 

Sun, 24 Apr 2022 - 09:31 AM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: municipal corporation, Election, Assam, Guwahati, Vote Counting

Courtesy: ANI

Counting Votes

Photo: Times Now Hindi / ANI

Counting Begins For Bochahan Assembly Seat By-Poll In Bihar's Muzaffarpur

Counting for the by-election to the Bochahan Assembly seat in Bihar's Muzaffarpur district, is underway, on April 16. Reportedly, out of 13 candidates contesting in the election, three are women. Around 2.90 lakh voters turned up, reported PTI. Following the death of MLA Musafir Paswan, the by-election to the seat became necessary. The counting reportedly began at 8 am, and the security in the area has been tightened.

Sat, 16 Apr 2022 - 09:31 AM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: Election, by-election, Muzaffarpur, Bochohan Assembly, Bihar

Shatrughan Sinha and Babul Supriyo

Photo: The Financial Express

Shatrughan Sinha, Babul Supriyo To Contest Lok Sabha By-Election On TMC Ticket

In the upcoming Lok Sabha by-election, Bollywood actor Shatrughan Sinha, and Singer Babul Supriyo will be contesting on the Trinamool Congress ticket from the Asansol and Ballygunge constituencies in West Bengal. Notably, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee took to Twitter on March 12 and announced the same. Earlier, on March 11the Election Commission announced by-polls in Ballygunge Assembly and Asansol Lok Sabha constituencies to be held on… read-more

Sun, 13 Mar 2022 - 02:35 PM / by Madhvi Jha

Tags: Shatrughan sinha, Babul Supriyo, West Bengal, All India Trinamool Congress, Election

Courtesy: India Today

Akhilesh Yadav

Photo: Jansatta

Will Not Take BJP MLAs, Ministers Anymore, Says SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav

Samajwadi Party (SP) Chief Akhilesh Yadav told that SP will not take any more BJP MLAs and ministers. The announcement came after many BJP leaders joined the party. BJP MLAs Bhagwati Sagar, Vinay Shakya, Roshan Lal Verma, Mukesh Verma and Brajesh Kumar Prajapati have already joined SP ahead of Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections. The elections will start from February 10 and go on till March 7.

Sat, 15 Jan 2022 - 04:13 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: Samajwadi Party, BJP, Uttar Pradesh, UP Assembly Polls, Election

Courtesy: ANI

Malvika Sood

Picture: Amar Ujala

Actor Sonu Sood's Sister Malvika Sood Joins Congress Party

Actor Sonu Sood's sister Malvika Sood on January 10, joined the Congress party, with Navjot Singh Sidhu. Calling the development as "game-changer" ahead of polls, she joined the party in presence of Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi and Navjot Sidhu, at the Sood residence in Moga Punjab. Malvika said that she has taken the political plunge to dedicate herself to serve the people of Punjab

Mon, 10 Jan 2022 - 06:08 PM / by Basharat Rashid

Tags: Punjab, politics, Congress, Election, Rally

Courtesy: PTI

Lashkar Singh, Chairman of Krantikari Mazdoor Kisan Party.

Photo: Devdiscourse

New Party Launched In Punjab To Fight For Farmers: Punjab Election

In Punjab, ahead of the upcoming assembly election, a new political party namely ''Krantikari Mazdoor Kisan Party'' has been launched on November 20. ''The party will fight for the issues faced by workers, peasants, farmers, and people of Punjab,'' said Lashkar Singh, Chairman of the party. However, the party is yet to be registered with the Election Commission of India. We'll fight the full-fledged Punjab election, added Singh.

Sun, 21 Nov 2021 - 10:20 AM / by Brijesh Goswami

Tags: Punjab Assembly, Krantikari Mazdoor Kisan Party, Election, Farmers, Punjab Election

Courtesy: ANI

Japan election result.

Photo: NBC news

Japan's PM Fumio Kishida Retains Power As Ruling LDP Wins Election

Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) of Japan emerged as the winner in the general election in the county, said media reports on November 1. The party secured over 233 seats in the lower house called the House of Representatives. The win is said to give a boost to PM Fumio Kishida (64) who recently take the place of his predecessor Yoshihide Suga. He's also the current president of the LDP.

Mon, 01 Nov 2021 - 05:45 PM / by Akansha Tiwari

Tags: Japan, Japan election results, Election, Elections