Randeep Surjewala

Photo: The Tribune

Congress Pulls Out From Election Debates On TV Due To COVID-19

In a view of the current COVID-19 situations, the Congress party has decided not to participate in the television debates post counting in five states. Congress chief spokesperson Randeep Surjewala on May 1 stated, "When Govt under PM Modi has collapsed, we find it unacceptable to not hold them accountable and instead discuss election wins and losses." However, the party said it would be available for giving statements to media.

Sun, 02 May 2021 - 11:18 AM / by Nikita Thakur

Tags: Indian National Congress, Election Commission, Elections, Elections Results

Supreme Court of India

Photo: The Times of India

EC Challenges Madras HC's "Murder Charges" Remarks In Supreme Court

The Election Commission on May 1 challenged the Madras High Court's "murder charges" remarks in the Supreme Court. The EC in its petition has said that the remarks were "uncalled for, blatantly disparaging and derogatory". Earlier, the high court had said that the EC "should be put up on murder charges" for mishandling the polling during the pandemic. The matter will now be heard on May 3.

Sun, 02 May 2021 - 09:36 AM / by Nikita Thakur

Tags: Madras High Court, Election Commission, Elections, Supreme Court

Courtesy: Times Now

Mamata Banerjee

Photo : India TV

Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee To Stop Any More Campaigning In Kolkata

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee has decided to not to hold anymore election rally in Kolkata owing to the steep surge in COVID-19 cases. Announcing the news, TMC MP Derek O’Brien on April 19 stated that the CM will now hold only a "symbolic" meeting on April 26, the last day of campaigning in Kolkata. Besides, CM Mamata has also reduced her other rallies' duration to just 30 minutes.

Mon, 19 Apr 2021 - 03:10 PM / by Neha Sanjeev

Tags: Mamata Banerjee, Coronavirus, Elections, Election Rallies

Courtesy: Indian Express

Sushil Chandra

Photo: Indian Express

EC Sushil Chandra To Serve As The Next Chief Election Commissioner

The Election Commission of India may likely to appoint Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra as the next Chief Election Commissioner. Reportedly, the officials at the ‘Nirvachan Sadan’ has cleared Chandra’s name for the top official post. Appointed as EC ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Chandra qualified for the top post in the three-member poll regulator body. Meanwhile, the current CEC Sunil Arora will retire from his post on April 30.

Mon, 12 Apr 2021 - 02:46 PM / by Neha Sanjeev

Tags: Elections, CEC Sunil Arora, Election Commission, Eelection 2020

Courtesy: India Today

 PSW Madhava Rao

Photo: AajTak

TN Congress Candidate PSW Madhava Rao Passes Away Due To COVID-19

Tamil Nadu Congress candidate PSW Madhava Rao, who contested from Srivilliputhur constituency in the recent assembly elections, died of COVID-19 complications on April 11. State Congress in-charge Sanjay Dutt paid condolences to Rao’s family. Since Rao died after the polling of the votes, the by-elections will take place if he is declared winner in the counting scheduled on May 2. The Tamil Nadu Assembly polls were held on April 6.

Sun, 11 Apr 2021 - 12:51 PM / by Neha Sanjeev

Tags: Elections, Tamil Nadu, by-elections, Covid-19

Courtesy: NDTV

Prashant Kishore

Photo: The Print

Bengal Polls: Prashant Kishor Dares BJP To Share Full Chat Of Leaked Audio

Amid the leaked audio-clip of Prashant Kishor (PK) thrilling the political arena, PK on April 10 dared BJP to share the complete chat instead of using a part of it for political gains. Earlier, the BJP IT cell shared a conversation between Kishor and a journalist, boasting that PK admitted BJP’s win in the West Bengal elections. However, Kishor reiterated that BJP would not be able to cross 100 seats.

Sat, 10 Apr 2021 - 08:45 PM / by Samanth Lanka

Tags: West Bengal, BJP, Prashant Kishor, Prashant kishore, Amit Malviya, Elections

Courtesy: Brifly Exclusive


Photo: The Financial Express

Assam, Kerala, Puducherry, TN State Polls End With High Voter Turnout

Voting for 475 seats in four states and an Union Territory concluded on April 6. While Assam’s last phase polls recorded highest (82.28%) voter turnout, West Bengal’s phase-3 elections on 31 seats recorded 77.68% voter turnout. Moreover, the single-phase elections for Puducherry’s 30 seats, Kerala’s 140 and Tamil Nadu’s 234 concluded with 81.64%, 73.58% and 71.79% voter turnout respectively. The results of assemblies will be announced on May… read-more

Wed, 07 Apr 2021 - 09:31 AM / by Nikita Thakur

Tags: Elections, Assam, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Kerala, Puducherry Health Director

Courtesy: Hindustan Times

Kamal Hassan

Photo: The New Indian Express

Tamil Nadu: Kamal Haasan Booked For Violating Model Code Of Conduct

Tamil Nadu’s Coimbatore Police has registered an FIR against Makkal Needhi Maiam supremo Kamal Haasan for violating the Model Code of Conduct. Haasan’s opponent Palanikumar, independent candidate from Coimbatore South constituency, complained that stage actors dressed as Lord Rama and goddesses performed at Ramapuram’s Ramar Temple as a part of Haasan's election campaign. The cops have booked Haasan under various sections of the… read-more

Mon, 05 Apr 2021 - 10:26 AM / by Nikita Thakur

Tags: Kamal Hassan, Elections, Election Code Of Conduct, Tamil Nadu

Courtesy: The Tribune

Actor and BJP Candidate Khushbu Sundar

Photo: Jansatta

TN Polls: BJP Candidate Booked For Campaigning Before Mosque

BJP candidate Khushbu Sundar of Thousand Lights constituency was booked for allegedly campaigning in front of a mosque on April 2. The case was filed at the Kodambakkam police station by an officer of an additional flying squad. The complaint was filed after she and her followers were found distributing pamphlets in front of a mosque without adequate permission from the authorities violating the model code of conduct.

Sat, 03 Apr 2021 - 04:23 PM / by Sohini Mandal

Tags: Tamil Nadu, TN Assembly Polls, Assembly Elections 2021, Elections

Courtesy: The Hindu


Photo: National Herald

Assam: Repoll Ordered In Ratabari After EVMs Found In BJP Member's Car

The Election Commission on April 2 ordered a re-voting for a polling booth in Assam's Ratabari constituency. The decision came after a video went viral which showed EVMs in BJP candidate Krishnendu Paul's car. Besides, the EC has also suspended the… read-more

Fri, 02 Apr 2021 - 02:24 PM / by Nikita Thakur

Tags: Assam, Election Commission, Elections, politics