National Film Awards

Photo: The Indian Express

68th National Film Awards, Winners List In Main Categories

The main categories of the National Film Awards are Feature Films, Non-Feature Films, Best Writing on Cinema and the Most Film-Friendly State. In the 68th edition, Most Film Friendly State was Madhya Pradesh, Colour Photo(Best Telugu-Film,) Thinkalazcha Nischayam (Malayalam film), Toolsidas Junior … read-more

Fri, 22 Jul 2022 - 05:20 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Film Awards, Main Categories, National Film Awards, Anurag Thakur, Winner List

The cast of The Power Of The Dog

Photo: CNN

BAFTA Awards 2022 Makes History, 'The Power Of The Dog' Wins Best Director Movie

This year's BAFTA  Awards made history with Jane Campion winning the best director for 'The Power Of The Dog'. She became the third woman to win best director. The award show was held in London's Royal Albert Hall, hosted by Australian actor-comedian Rebel Wilson. The British awards are usually held in the same week as the Oscars, yet this year's Oscars will be held on March 27. 

Mon, 14 Mar 2022 - 02:11 PM / by Rupsa Debnath

Tags: Film Awards, bafta awards, British, Films, london

Courtesy: The Indian Express

Rajnikant stills from a movie


Rajnikant Set To Receive 51st Dadasaheb Phalke Awards 

Veteran actor Rajnikant, fondly known as 'Thalaiva' by his fans is set to receive the 51st Dadasaheb Phalke Award on October 25. This award is considered as ''the India's highest film honour'', which is given for the contribution to the world of Indian cinematography. The last award was given to Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachchan. Besides, the actor will next be seen in ''Annaatthe'', which will release on November 4.

Sun, 24 Oct 2021 - 03:15 PM / by SAM RAHUL RAJASHEKHAR

Tags: Rajnikanth, Film Awards, Dadasaheb Phalke Award, Indian Cinema, Thalaiva

Courtesy: ANI

IFFM 2021

photo: Film Freeway

Indian Film Festival of Melbourne 2021; Winners Announced

The 12th edition of the Indian Film Festival kicked off on August 20. "Soorarai Pottru" won the award for the best feature film, also earned Suriya the best actor award, while "Sherni" earned Vidya Balan the best actress award. Anurag Basu won the best director award for "Ludo", "Mirzapur" was voted as the best series. Monoj Bajpayee and Samantha Akkineni won the best performance award for "The… read-more

Sun, 22 Aug 2021 - 11:39 AM / by Balaji L

Tags: Suriya, Vidya Balan, Film Awards, Indian Actor

Courtesy: The Hindu

Writers Guild Awards

Photo : Variety

Writers Guild Award: Borat Subsequent Moviefilm, Young Woman Honoured

'Borat Subsequent Moviefilm' and 'Promising Young Woman' have been honoured at the virtual 73rd Writers Guild Awards. While Emerald Fennell's 'Promising Young Woman' won the best original screenplay award, Sacha Baron Cohen’s 'Borat Subsequent Moviefilm' won the best-adapted screenplay award. Other winners included 'The Dissident' for the best documentary screenplay, 'Ted Lasso' for comedy series, 'The Crown' for drama series, and 'Ozark' for… read-more

Mon, 22 Mar 2021 - 06:23 PM / by Neha Sanjeev

Tags: Film Awards, Writers Guild, film, Cinema

Courtesy: Indian Express

Kerela State Film Awards

Photo: Times of India

'Vasanthi' Best Movie In Kerela State Film Awards; Lijo Jose Best Director

The 50th Kerela State Film Awards were announced on October 13 by the Minister of Cultural Affairs AK Balan. The movie 'Vasanthi' won the best film award. 'Best actor and actress awards' were given to Suraj Venjaramoodu ( for 'Android Kunjappan', 'Vikriti') and Kani Kusruti (for 'Biryani') respectively. Lijo Jose Pellissery bagged the 'best director award' for 'Jallikattu'. Besides, Fahadh Faasil won the 'best character actor award' for… read-more

Wed, 14 Oct 2020 - 01:15 AM / by Dharshana Vijayan

Tags: Kerala, Film Awards, Minister of Cultural Affairs, Malayalam

Courtesy: The Hindu

Toronto Tamil Film Festival

Photo: TTFF

Toronto Tamil Film Festival: 'Sillu Karupatti', 'Oththa Seruppu size 7' Win Big

Tamil Movies - 'Sillu Karupatti' and 'Oththa Seruppu Size 7' - bagged many awards at the Toronto Tamil International Film Festival this year. 'Sillu Karupatti', directed by Halitha Shameem won the jury awards for Best Feature Film Women Director and Best Experimental Feature Film. Actor-director Parthiban's Oththa Seruppu Size 7 won Jury Award for Best Feature Film, Best Feature Film Director, and Best Solo Act… read-more

Tue, 15 Sep 2020 - 09:08 PM / by Dharshana Vijayan

Tags: Toronto Tamil Film Festival, Film Awards, Canada, Kollywood

Courtesy: The News Minute

Tabu will present awards at the TIFF

Photo: WikiBio

Tabu Becomes 'Tribute Awards' Presenter at TIFF 2020

Bollywood actress Tabu will be joining other Hollywood stars to introduce winners of the Tribute Awards at the 2020 Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF). The award ceremony will be telecasted on September 15. Reportedly, directors Mira Nair and Chloe Zhao, and veteran actor Anthony Hopkins will be honored at the event. It has already been declared that 'A Suitable Boy', starring Tabu, will be showcased to close the ceremony.

Fri, 11 Sep 2020 - 05:47 PM / by Debanshi Das

Tags: Tabu, Mira Nair, Toronto International Film Festival, Film Awards

Ayushmann Khurana

Photo: The Times Of India

Ayushmann Khurrana Appreciates Gender-neutral Awards in Berlin Film Festival

On September 7, Bollywood actor Ayushmann Khurrana praised the Berlin Film Festival's decision to keep their performance awards gender-neutral from the year 2021. He pleads to the award functions in India to follow the trend as well. The festival had decided that instead of honoring the actor according to their gender, they will bestow them as the best leading performer. 

Mon, 07 Sep 2020 - 09:52 PM / by Debanshi Das

Tags: ayushmann khurana, berlin film festival, Film Awards, Gender Equality