Chief Justice of India N V Ramana

Photo: The Leaflet

SC Collegium Recommends 8 Names For Chief Justice Post In HCs

The three-member collegium headed by Chief Justice of India, N V Ramana has recommended eight names to the Centre to appoint them as chief justices of different high courts in India, media reports said on September 17. Reportedly, Kolkata, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana, Meghalaya, Gujarat, and Madhya Pradesh will get new Chief Justices. Besides, the collegium also recommended the transfer of 28 HC judges including, Allahabad High Court… read-more

Fri, 17 Sep 2021 - 06:21 PM / by Brijesh Goswami

Tags: SC Collegium, Chief Justice, High Court, Centre

Courtesy: Zee News

Supreme Court of India

Photo: India TV

Six Additional Karnataka HC Judges Get Permanent Seats In SC

Following the appointment of a permanent judge, Justice Kaushik, the Supreme Court collegium has validated the appointment of six more Karnataka HC Judges. Justices Neranahalli Srinivasan Sanjay Gowda, Jyoti Mulimani, Nataraj Rangaswamy, Hemant Chandangoudar, Pradeep Singh Yerur, and Maheshan Nagaprasanna have been given a permanent position. The collegium meeting was chaired by Chief Justice N V Ramana. The decision was uploaded on the SC… read-more

Fri, 20 Aug 2021 - 11:17 AM / by Prateek Chakradhar

Tags: Supreme Court of India, SC Collegium, Karnataka High Court, Female Judges

Courtesy: News 18

Justice BV Nagarathna.

Photo: The Print

India Likely To Appoint Justice BV Nagarathna As First Woman CJI

The SC collegium led by the CJI NV Ramana recommended nine names for appointing judges in the apex court, on August 17. Justice BV Nagarathna serving in the Karnataka High Court will likely become the first woman Chief Justice of India ''for a little over a month'' in 2027 following the government's approval. The rule says three out of nine appointees can become the CJI before their tenure ends.

Wed, 18 Aug 2021 - 12:14 PM / by Brijesh Goswami

Tags: SC Collegium, Justice BV Nagarathna, First Woman CJI, Chief Justice of India

Courtesy: DNA India