President of Sri Lanka Ranil Wickremesinghe

Photo: The Times of India

Ranil Wickremesinghe Wins Sri Lanka Presidential Elections With 132 Votes

Sri Lankan acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe won the Nation's Presidential elections, which concluded on July 20. A parliament house of 255 members voted for the three candidates--Ranil Wickremesinghe, Anura Kumara Dissanayake and Dullas Alahaperumain in the presidential fray. Of the total, 138 votes were given to Ranil, whereas Dullas Alahaperuma secured 82 votes and Anura was left with only three votes. With this, Wickremesinghe… read-more

Wed, 20 Jul 2022 - 01:27 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Ranil Wickremesinghe, Sri Lanka President, Elections, parliament, Gotabaya Rajapaksa

Courtesy: News 18

Gotabaya Rajapaksa

Photo: NDTV

Rajapaksa Signs Resignation Papers, Public Announcement On July 13: Sri Lanka

After months of protest by Sri Lanka citizens, President Gotabaya Rajapaksa finally signed his resignation letter dated July 13. The papers were signed on July 11, and were given to a senior government official. Notably, the resignation letter will be handed over to the speaker of Parliament, who will make a public announcement. With this, on July 13, Sri Lanka will be free from the presidency of Gotabaya Rajapaksa, officially.

Tue, 12 Jul 2022 - 04:01 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Sri Lanka President, Gotabaya Rajapaksa, Sri Lanka Speaker, Public Announcement, Protests

Sri Lanka President Gotabaya Rajapaksa

Photo: The Telegraph

Sri Lanka President Declares State Of Emergency With Effect From Midnight

As the protests in Sri Lanka continue unabated, Sri Lanka President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has declared a state of emergency, effective from the midnight of 7th May. This comes amid growing economic turmoil in the country. This marks the second time an emergency has been declared in the country in merely five weeks. A spokesman for the President shared that this move is just meant to ensure public order.

Sat, 07 May 2022 - 10:35 AM / by Varun Das

Tags: Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka President, State of Emergency, President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, Gotabaya Rajapaksa

Courtesy: The Economic Times