BCCI  cancels all domestic tournaments amid the pandemic.

Photo : Quint

BCCI Suspends All Age-Group Tournaments Amid Rising COVID Cases

The BCCI has suspended all age-group tournaments, including the upcoming Vinoo Mankad Trophy, citing surge in COVID-19 cases across the country. BCCI secretary Jay Shah said the decision was made keeping the factors like inter-city travels and creation of bio bubbles in mind. While the pandemic-stricken 2020-21 domestic season started late hosting Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy, the board’s 89th AGM has now decided to defer… read-more

Wed, 17 Mar 2021 - 01:25 PM / by Neha Sanjeev

Tags: IPL, BCCI, Indian Cricketer, Jay Shah, Vinoo Mankad Trophy, Domestic Cricket, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Courtesy: Zee News

Mumbai Team

Photo: Sportstar

Mumbai Wins Vijay Hazare Trophy For Fourth Time

Mumbai cricket team has defeated Uttar Pradesh by six wickets to win the Vijay Hazare Trophy for the fourth time. Batting first, Uttar Pradesh had posted a total of 312 runs with the help of Madhav Kaushik's scintillating 158*. With Aditya Tare's century and Prithvi Shaw's blistering 39-ball-73-run knock, Mumbai reached the target with 51 balls to spare. Besides, Shaw now holds the record for the highest runs scored (827) in a single edition… read-more

Sun, 14 Mar 2021 - 05:56 PM / by Mahadevan K V

Tags: Cricket, Mumbai, Uttar Pradesh, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Prithvi Shaw, Aditya Tare

Mumbai Skipper Prithvi Shaw

Photo: myKhel

Mumbai To Face UP In Vijay Hazare Final; Defeats Karnataka In SF

The Mumbai cricket team on March 11, defeated Karnataka in the semi-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy to qualify for the finals on March 14 at Delhi's Arun Jaitley stadium. Mumbai will compete against Uttar Pradesh, which had won Gujarat by five wickets in the other semi-final. Notably, Mumbai amassed a 72-run victory, thanks to in-form skipper Prithvi Shaw's singlehanded 122-ball 165-run knock.

Thu, 11 Mar 2021 - 08:21 PM / by Ashly Ann Varghese

Tags: Mumbai, Karnataka, Vijay Hazare Trophy, semi-finals, Finals, Uttar Pradesh, Prithvi Shaw

Courtesy: Outlook

Prithvi Shaw

Photo: The New Indian Express

Vijay Hazare: With 227*, Prithvi Shaw Becomes Highest Individual Scorer

Mumbai lad Prithvi Shaw recorded the highest individual score in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy following a stellar unbeaten knock of 227 runs in 152 balls. Prithvi's innings against the Puducherry included 32 fours and five sixes. Previously, the record was held by Kerala's Sanju Samson, who scored 212 not out against Goa in 2019. With Surya Kumar Yadav's cameo, Mumbai scored 457 runs after losing six wickets.

Thu, 25 Feb 2021 - 03:47 PM / by Mahadevan K V

Tags: Vijay Hazare Trophy, BCCI, Domestic Cricket, Prithvi Shaw, Mumbai, Puducherry Health Director

Courtesy: Deccan Herald


Photo: Cricket News

BCCI Breaks 87-Yr-Old Streak As It Cancelled Ranji Trophy This Year

Breaking an 87-year-old streak, the BCCI will not be conducting Ranji Trophy in 2021. Instead, the board has opted for the Vijay Hazare Trophy this year after majority of the state units demanded for it. Moreover, for the Vinoo Mankad Trophy, an Under-19 tournament will be held. However, it is expected that the board will provide financial assistance to the Ranji Trophy players as they would not be able to get match fees this year. 

Sat, 30 Jan 2021 - 12:59 PM / by Nikita Thakur

Tags: BCCI, Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Sourav Ganguly

Courtesy: Hindustan Times