Photo: The Print

Tripura By Elections: Voting Underway For Dhanpur & Boxanagar Assembly Seat

The stage is set for by elections of Dhanpur and Boxanagar Assembly seat, in Tripura. Notably, the elections were called off, and is set for voting, on September 5. Approximately 66% of minor voters will decide the fate of BJP and Congress candidates, in the fray, at 59 and 51 booths, respectively. Furthermore, tight paramilitary forces have been deployed in the two constituencies, which share a boundary with Bangladesh.

Tue, 05 Sep 2023 - 09:30 AM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: National news, By elections, Tripura politics, voting


Congress wina Shimla municipal elections

Photo: The Times Of India

Congress Wins SMC Elections With 24 Seats: Himachal Pradesh

The Congress Party won 24 of the 34 Shimla Municipal Corporation (SMC) wards on Thursday, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won nine and the CPI(M) won one. The counting of votes for Shimla Municipal Corporation (SMC) wards began today at 10 a.m. The SMC elections held on Tuesday recorded 59% polling, which was 1.2% higher than the 2017 SMC elections. The elections was major drawback for BJP.

Fri, 05 May 2023 - 09:00 AM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Shimla Municipal Elections, voting, BJP, Congress, Shimla News

Courtesy: Zee News India


Photo: The News Minute

Karnataka Assembly Polls On May 10, Results On May 31

The Election Commission of India announced the voting schedule for the Karnataka Assembly elections. As per the ECI, the voting for the 223-Karnataka Assembly seats will be held on May 10, and the results will be announced on May 31. In 2023, The term of the Karnataka Assembly is till May 24 and a total of 5.23 crore electors were eligible to vote and decide fate of the ruling BJP.

Wed, 29 Mar 2023 - 01:06 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: ECI, karnataka assembly elections, BJP, Congress, voting

Courtesy: Indian Express

Supreme Court

Photo: The Indian Express

Supreme Court Announces Verdict In Delhi Mayor Polls Controversy

In a major setback for the Delhi Government, the Supreme Court (SC) restricted nominated members to vote for Mayor and Deputy Mayor elections in Delhi. On February 17, the Apex Court gave the judgement, ending the controversy over the voting for the Delhi Mayor's election. Reviewing the petition, the court also said the election of Mayor need to precede the Deputy Mayor election, notified 24 hours prior.

Fri, 17 Feb 2023 - 04:58 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Mayor Elections, Delhi Mayor, voting, Supreme Court, judgement

Courtesy: Live Law

Draupadi Murmu

Photo: Telangana Today

Draupadi Murmu Becomes 1st Tribal Woman To Be President of India, Wins Majority

Draupadi Murmu became the first tribal woman to be elected as the 15th President of India on July 21. After rounds of voting, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate won with a huge margin of over 2,161 votes of the value of 5,77,777 against the UPA-candidate Yashwant Sinha, who secured 1058 votes of the value 2,61,062. With this, Draupadi Murmu was the clear winner of the 2022 Presidential… read-more

Thu, 21 Jul 2022 - 08:23 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Presidential Elections, draupadi murmu, Yashwant Sinha, voting, President of India

Courtesy: The Times of India

Rajya Sabha Elections

Photo: The Print

Maharashtra, Haryana, Karnataka, Rajasthan Conduct Rajya Sabha Polls For 16 Seats

Four states, Maharashtra, Haryana, Karnataka, and Rajasthan, are conducting polls for 16 Rajya Sabha seats, on June 10. The polls started at 9 am-to 4 pm, whereas the counting will begin at 5 pm. To observe smooth polling, the ECI appointed special observers and deployed security including videography of the exercise. Furthermore, approximately 57 Rajya Sabha seats were announced recently and all 41 candidates were elected unopposed.

Fri, 10 Jun 2022 - 01:02 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: rajya sabha elections, Seats, Indian States, voting, Indian Leaders

ECI Conference

Photo: Financial Express

Presidential Election of India Scheduled On July 18, Announces ECI

The Election Commission of India announced the dates for the presidential elections of India, on July 18. The Commission Poll Panel conducted a press conference on June 9, and announced the dates. While the elections will be held on July 18, the results will be announced on July 21. Notably, President Ram Nath Kovind's presidential term is to end on July 24.

Thu, 09 Jun 2022 - 04:02 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Election Commission Of India, Presidential Elections, Ram Nath Kovind, Delhi, voting

Courtesy: NDTV

People line up to cast their votes. (representational image)

Photo: Zee News

Polling For By-Elections Begins in Asansol, Ballygunge Area

Polling process for the by-election to the Asansol Lok Sabha seat and the Ballygunge assembly segment kicked off earlier at 7 AM today. A total of 300 voting booths in Ballygunge and 680 booths in Asansol have been identified as being sensitive. There are a total of 17.5 lakh eligible voters in Asansol and Ballygunge combined. The polling ends at 6:30 PM on April 12.

Tue, 12 Apr 2022 - 10:30 AM / by Varun Das

Tags: by election, Elections, voting, Voters, Voters Turnout

Manipur Assembly Elections 2022

Photo: NDTV India

67.53% Voter Turnout Till 3 Pm Amid Violence: Manipur Elections 2022

A voter turnout of 67.53% from 38 constituencies was recorded till 3 pm for the first phase of voting in Manipur elections. In addition, Kangpokpi district recorded the highest voters turnout at 76.74%. Moreover, BJP has fielded candidates in all the 38 seats, Congress with 35 contestants, and the rest with 75 seats. Notably, Polling will end at 4 pm and COVID-19 patients can vote between 3-4 pm.

Tue, 01 Mar 2022 - 01:06 PM / by Shaloo Priya

Tags: politics, Manipur, voting, Candidates, Voters

Courtesy: India Today

Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami

Photo: Zee News

Uttarakhand Creates History After 62.5% Population Turn-Out For Voting

Post Assembly elections on February 14, the Uttarakhand CM & BJP leader Pushkar Singh Dhami said that people have created history by voting in such large numbers. "I hope that the new government will work for a golden future of Uttarakhand," Dhami said to ANI. Reportedly, almost 62.5% people have voted in the assembly polls 2022. Moreover, the counting will take place on March 10.

Tue, 15 Feb 2022 - 11:55 AM / by Madhvi Jha

Tags: Uttarkhand, voting, BJP, Pushkar Singh Dhami, Chief Minister

Courtesy: ANI