PM Narendra Modi

Photo: NDTV

PM Narendra Modi Rips Opposition In Rajya Sabha With His Speech

PM Narendra Modi addressed the Rajya Sabha, on February 9, and took a dig against the criticism and statements of the Congress. Addressing the Rajya Sabha sitting, Modi said, "True secularism is making sure that the benefits of different government schemes reach all eligible beneficiaries."  He further highlighted the achievement of the BJP and the failure of the Gandhis, which ruled the nation and moved it towards destruction.

Thu, 09 Feb 2023 - 06:01 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: PM Narendra Modi, Parliament Session, rajya sabha, Gandhis, Congress Party

Biplab Kumar

Photo: The Week

Former Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb & BJP’s Gulam Ali Take Oath As Rajya Sabha MPs

Former Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb and BJP’s Gulam Ali have taken oath as the new MPs in Rajya Sabha on September 28. The oath was taken in the presence of Rajya Sabha Chairman and India’s Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar. Furthermore. Biplab Kumar termed the northeastern states as “Asht Laxmi”, and said that he would follow up on the development works already begun by PM Modi.

Wed, 28 Sep 2022 - 07:55 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: parliament, rajya sabha, Tripura, Gulam Ali, Biplab Kumar Deb

Courtesy: ANI

Anurag Thakur

Photo: Prabhat Khabar

Rajya Sabha Takes Up National Anti-Doping Bill

The National Anti-Doping Bill was introduced in Rajya Sabha on August 3, after being passed in Lok Sabha last week. The bill seeks to provide a statutory framework in the form of legislation, that bans doping in the sports industry. The bill also seeks to provide legal sanctity to anti-doping agencies such as NADA and NADL. Minister Anurag Thakur, the law will protect the rights of all sportspersons. 

Wed, 03 Aug 2022 - 07:24 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: Anurag Thakur, rajya sabha, lok sabha, Steroid Laws, Anti-Doping Bill

Shiv Sena Parliament

Photo: Business Standard

Uddhav Thackeray Led Shiv Sena Issues Suspension Notice To Rajya Sabha Over Raut's Arrest

The Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena party issued a suspension business notice in the Rajya Sabha, on August 1. The notice was issued in view of the arrest of Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut. Notably, the Enforcement Directorate (ED) arrested Raut in connection with the land scam in the Mumbai chawl project. The party condemned the arrest and… read-more

Mon, 01 Aug 2022 - 12:04 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: rajya sabha, parliament, Shiv Sena, Business Suspension Notice, Sanjay Raut

Courtesy: Republic World

Rajya sabha

Photo: News 18

3 More MPs Suspended From Rajya Sabha For 'Disrupting' Proceedings

Three more MPs were suspended from Rajya Sabha, for allegedly "disrupting" the assembly proceedings. The suspension is valid for this week. The suspended members include AAP MP Sushil Kumar Gupta, AAP MP Sandeep Kumar Pathak and independent MP Ajit Kumar Bhuyan. With this, a total of 23 MPs have been suspended from Rajya Sabha since July 26. Meanwhile, four MPs… read-more

Thu, 28 Jul 2022 - 04:05 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: rajya sabha, lok sabha, Suspended, mp, parliament

Courtesy: ANI

Suspended TMC MPs

Photo: India TV News

Suspended TMC MPs Protest Outside Parliament Near Mahatma Gandhi Statue

TMC MPs who were suspended from Rajya Sabha, staged a sit-in protest outside the parliament, near the Mahatma Gandhi Statue, on July 27. The MPs were suspended on July 26 for "unruly behaviour" and "disrupting proceedings". The suspended MPs include Sushmita Dev, Santanu Sen, Dola Sen, Mausam Noor, Shanta Chhetri, Abhi Ranjan Biswar, Mohd Nadidul Haque. The parliament's monsoon session commenced on July 18, and will conclude on August 21. … read-more

Wed, 27 Jul 2022 - 04:42 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: TMC, mp, rajya sabha, Suspended MP, Parliament Monsoon Session

Courtesy: ANI

D Veerendra Heggade

Photo: SUPERR life

Philanthropist D Veerendra Heggade Swears In As New Rajya Sabha MP

Renowned philanthropist D Veerendra Heggade took oath as a new member of the Rajya Sabha, on July 21. He is also the administrator of the Dharmasthala temple in Karnataka's Dakshina Kannada district. Besides Heggade, legendary music composer Ilayaraja, athlete PT Usha and screenwriter V Vijayendra Prasad also sworn in as new Rajya Sabha members. Notably, Heggade was honoured with the prestigious Padma Bhushan award in 2015.

Thu, 21 Jul 2022 - 08:50 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: rajya sabha, parliament, Veerendra Heggade, PT Usha, Ilayaraja

Courtesy: ANI

Milk Packet Protest

Photo: Free Press Journal

Opposition Stages Protest Against GST Rates Hike, Brings Milk & Curd Packets To Parliament

Lok Sabha proceedings were adjourned till 4 pm on July 20, since opposition brought milk and curd packets to protest against the increased prices and GST rates on household items. The protest was staged outside parliament, near the Mahatma Gandhi statue, and within both the houses. Notably, Rajya Sabha proceedings were also postponed till 2 pm. Further details are awaited.

Wed, 20 Jul 2022 - 05:05 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: GST, Household Items, lok sabha, rajya sabha, Parliament Protest

Courtesy: Hindustan Times

Venkaiah Naidu In RS

Photo: India Today

Five Newly Elected Rajya Sabha Members Take Oath, Chairman Venkaiah Naidu Administer Ceremony

Five newly elected Rajya Sabha Members sworn in to the office, on June 24. Chairman Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath taking ceremony. The newly elected members include Niranjan Reddy Sirgapoor and Ryaga Krishnaiah from Andhra Pradesh, Damodar Rao Divakonda and B Parthasaradhi Reddy from Telangana, and Niranjan Bishi from Odisha. Krishnaiah, Divakonda and Parthasaradhi Reddy took the oath in Telugu, while Sirgapoor and Bishi took it in… read-more

Fri, 24 Jun 2022 - 08:20 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: rajya sabha, Venkaiah Naidu, parliament, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana

Courtesy: ANI

Anil Deshmukh and Nawab Malik

Photo: Indian Express

Bombay HC To Decide On Bail Plea Of Deshmukh, Malik To Vote In Rajya Sabha

The Bombay High Court withheld on June 16 the decision requests of Maharashtra Minister Nawab Malik and former Maharashtra Home Minister Anil Deshmukh for authorization to vote in the MLC elections on June 20. On June 17, the court will issue its decision. Previously, a special PMLA court in Mumbai dismissed their applications. Deshmukh and Malik are detained in connection with several money-laundering investigations being conducted by the… read-more

Fri, 17 Jun 2022 - 09:59 AM / by Vidhi Jhunjhunwala

Tags: Bombay HC, rajya sabha, Nawab Malik, Anil Deshmukh, Plea

Courtesy: ANI