Photo: India Today

Special Parliament Session Begins On September 18, PM Modi To Open Session

The five-day "Amrit Kaal" session of parliament begins today. The agenda includes discussions on the evolution of India's parliamentary democracy. Eight bills are listed, including a controversial one on the Chief Election Commissioner's pick. Monday's discussion on 75 years of parliament likely to be opened by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the Lok Sabha and BJP's senior leader Piyush Goyal in the Rajya Sabha.

Mon, 18 Sep 2023 - 09:42 AM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Parliament Session, Indian government, PM Narendra Modi, Special Session, rajya sabha

Courtesy: NDTV

Raghav Chadha

Photo: The Indian Express

Raghav Chadha's First Reaction After Being Suspended From Rajya Sabha

In an exclusive interview with the media, AAP MP Raghav Chaddha spoke about his suspension. He said, he has been suspended for questioning the biggest party BJP's MLAs, and questioned the Delhi Services Bill. He said, he called the BJP to be Advani party and said, the BJP is the strongest and is misusing their powers, and not allowing the opposition to speak in the Parliament Session.

Fri, 11 Aug 2023 - 08:31 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: rajya sabha, AAP MP, Raghav Chadha, parliament, Suspended MP

Courtesy: Hindustan Times


Photo: Telangana Today

Rajya Sabha Passes Away Delhi Services Bill 2023, Setback For AAP Government

The Rajya Sabha passed the controversial 'Delhi Services Bill', named Government of National Capital Territory Amendment Bill 2023. This new bill replaces the contentious Delhi Ordinance on the control of services in Delhi. While the new Bill removes the contentious Section 3A of the ordinance that held that the Delhi legislative assembly will not have control over services under Entry 41 of List-II of the Seventh Schedule of the Constitution… read-more

Tue, 08 Aug 2023 - 11:47 AM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Delhi Government, BJP, rajya sabha, Delhi Service Bill, parliament

Courtesy: The Wire

Lok Sabha Parliament

Photo: The Economic Times

Controversial Delhi Service Bill Passes In Lok Sabha, Moved In Rajya Sabha

The controversial Delhi Services Bill will be in Rajya Sabha today for discussion and vote. Though bitterly resisted by the Opposition, it is expected to have smooth sailing, given the support from Naveen Patnaik's BJD and Andhra's YSRCP Party. The Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) Bill, 2023, - which replaces the Ordinance that wrested control of bureaucrats from the Delhi government.

Mon, 07 Aug 2023 - 12:12 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: Delhi Ordinance, Indian Politics, Official Control Bill, lok sabha, rajya sabha

Courtesy: NDTV

PM Narendra Modi

Photo: NDTV

PM Narendra Modi Rips Opposition In Rajya Sabha With His Speech

PM Narendra Modi addressed the Rajya Sabha, on February 9, and took a dig against the criticism and statements of the Congress. Addressing the Rajya Sabha sitting, Modi said, "True secularism is making sure that the benefits of different government schemes reach all eligible beneficiaries."  He further highlighted the achievement of the BJP and the failure of the Gandhis, which ruled the nation and moved it towards destruction.

Thu, 09 Feb 2023 - 06:01 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: PM Narendra Modi, Parliament Session, rajya sabha, Gandhis, Congress Party

Biplab Kumar

Photo: The Week

Former Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb & BJP’s Gulam Ali Take Oath As Rajya Sabha MPs

Former Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb and BJP’s Gulam Ali have taken oath as the new MPs in Rajya Sabha on September 28. The oath was taken in the presence of Rajya Sabha Chairman and India’s Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar. Furthermore. Biplab Kumar termed the northeastern states as “Asht Laxmi”, and said that he would follow up on the development works already begun by PM Modi.

Wed, 28 Sep 2022 - 07:55 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: parliament, rajya sabha, Tripura, Gulam Ali, Biplab Kumar Deb

Courtesy: ANI

Anurag Thakur

Photo: Prabhat Khabar

Rajya Sabha Takes Up National Anti-Doping Bill

The National Anti-Doping Bill was introduced in Rajya Sabha on August 3, after being passed in Lok Sabha last week. The bill seeks to provide a statutory framework in the form of legislation, that bans doping in the sports industry. The bill also seeks to provide legal sanctity to anti-doping agencies such as NADA and NADL. Minister Anurag Thakur, the law will protect the rights of all sportspersons. 

Wed, 03 Aug 2022 - 07:24 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: Anurag Thakur, rajya sabha, lok sabha, Steroid Laws, Anti-Doping Bill

Shiv Sena Parliament

Photo: Business Standard

Uddhav Thackeray Led Shiv Sena Issues Suspension Notice To Rajya Sabha Over Raut's Arrest

The Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena party issued a suspension business notice in the Rajya Sabha, on August 1. The notice was issued in view of the arrest of Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut. Notably, the Enforcement Directorate (ED) arrested Raut in connection with the land scam in the Mumbai chawl project. The party condemned the arrest and… read-more

Mon, 01 Aug 2022 - 12:04 PM / by Varsha Joshi

Tags: rajya sabha, parliament, Shiv Sena, Business Suspension Notice, Sanjay Raut

Courtesy: Republic World

Rajya sabha

Photo: News 18

3 More MPs Suspended From Rajya Sabha For 'Disrupting' Proceedings

Three more MPs were suspended from Rajya Sabha, for allegedly "disrupting" the assembly proceedings. The suspension is valid for this week. The suspended members include AAP MP Sushil Kumar Gupta, AAP MP Sandeep Kumar Pathak and independent MP Ajit Kumar Bhuyan. With this, a total of 23 MPs have been suspended from Rajya Sabha since July 26. Meanwhile, four MPs… read-more

Thu, 28 Jul 2022 - 04:05 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: rajya sabha, lok sabha, Suspended, mp, parliament

Courtesy: ANI

Suspended TMC MPs

Photo: India TV News

Suspended TMC MPs Protest Outside Parliament Near Mahatma Gandhi Statue

TMC MPs who were suspended from Rajya Sabha, staged a sit-in protest outside the parliament, near the Mahatma Gandhi Statue, on July 27. The MPs were suspended on July 26 for "unruly behaviour" and "disrupting proceedings". The suspended MPs include Sushmita Dev, Santanu Sen, Dola Sen, Mausam Noor, Shanta Chhetri, Abhi Ranjan Biswar, Mohd Nadidul Haque. The parliament's monsoon session commenced on July 18, and will conclude on August 21. … read-more

Wed, 27 Jul 2022 - 04:42 PM / by Shibu Immanuel S

Tags: TMC, mp, rajya sabha, Suspended MP, Parliament Monsoon Session

Courtesy: ANI